We are marketing a half-acre plot of land in one of the finest streets in Cambridge. The patch of land, nestled behind Churchill College, is set to become the foundation for a 7,300 sq. ft seven bedroomed home which will come complete with an indoor swimming pool complex and yoga studio.
Storey’s Way is widely acknowledged as one of the best addresses in Cambridge. A quiet, leafy avenue running from Churchill College on Madingley Road, past Trinity Hall playing fields and onto Huntingdon Road.
The site at 68 Storey’s Way is currently home to a modest four bedroom, 1950s house which will need to be demolished to make way for the new buildings. Full planning permission has been granted to create an Arts & Crafts style building in keeping with neighbouring homes built in the 1920s and 1930s.
It is thought that the house at nearly 10,000 sq.ft of total accommodation will be worth around £4million once completed – making it one of the most impressive private homes in the City.
Oliver Hughes commenting on the sale said ‘This is a unique opportunity to create a bespoke home of outstanding luxury and quality. The special character of Storey’s Way stems from the Arts & Craft houses with their spacious gardens. Number 68 is no different.
Unusually for a prime Cambridge plot, there are no substantial restrictive covenants. This means the buyer has flexibility on subsequent plans and applications, a real chance to build a dream home, architecturally linked to the past but with all the advantages of modern living.”
Click here to view the full details
The history of Storey’s Way
Storey’s Way is a Conservation Area, who’s character is determined by the detached family houses with their spacious gardens. The boundaries of the Conservation Area are defined by the original L-shaped plot of about 42 acres which was allotted to the Trustees of Storey’s Charity by the Enclosure Award of 1805. The original charity was established in 1692 when ‘Edward Storey of Cambridge, gentleman’, bequeathed the rents and profits of his estate for the construction of ten alms houses for the benefit of widows of Anglican clergy, and of widows and maidens ‘of sober life and conversation’ of the parishes of St Giles and of Holy Trinity.
By the late 1890s the Trustees of Storey’s Charity, decided to raise capital for re-investment by selling some of their agricultural land for high quality housing covering some 35 acres. 74 freehold plots were offered for sale, varying in size from a quarter of an acre in the northern area to half an acre elsewhere. By the end of 1914 eighteen plots had been sold, but during and immediately after the Great War, sales were slow and the last plot was not sold until 1932.
The first houses were built in 1912, with the majority being built before 1930 and a few from the post-war period. There are several Baillie Scott houses in the ‘Arts and Crafts’ style located at the west end of the road. The houses are characterised by a continuity of style of the 1920s but with a wealth of variation in roofs, gables, decorative timbering, tile detail, windows, porches and brick or render finishes. The influence of the Arts & Crafts Movement is still recognisable in many of the gardens with formal design close to the house and ‘wild garden’ beyond. Yew and beech hedges are common, as are close-boarded or slatted, low, wooden fences.